On this day: John Wayne died in 1979

John Wayne In The Undefeated

I want to say something about John Wayne’s career… but I just can’t.

On the 11th of June, this Oscar-winning right-wing extremist died of cancer at age seventy-two.

A man who turned down major film roles for not being ‘patriotic enough’ he was a bit of a, well, let’s say he was a tosser.

He might be remembered as an icon by many, but when I hear his name, I remember that he said things like this:

“I believe in white supremacy, until the blacks are educated to a point of responsibility. I don’t believe giving authority and positions of leadership and judgment to irresponsible people … I don’t feel we did wrong in taking this great country away from [the Native Americans] … Our so-called stealing of this country from them was just a matter of survival. There were great numbers of people who needed new land, and the Indians were selfishly trying to keep it for themselves.”

Between him and Sean Connery, I really have to wonder what’s wrong with people. Why are we still idolising this type of person?

Leave a Reply

