On this day: New Parliament House opens in Canberra

9th May 1988: Queen Elizabeth II opened Australia’s permanent Parliament House in Canberra. Before then, parliament had been sitting in the temporary building nearby. Due to the interruptions of war, “temporary” Old Parliament House ended up being the seat of Australia’s government from 1927 to 1988.

9 May 1988, Queen Elizabeth II opened the permanent Parliament House in Australia’s Canberra

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.